Texting and Driving
With nearly half a million people injured by distracted driving every year, texting behind the wheel has become a serious—and deadly—safety epidemic in the United States. Despite the risks, many people are unaware just how dangerous texting and driving can be.
At William Mattar Law Offices, we believe that educating drivers about distracted driving risks can help save lives on the road. That’s why our accident injury attorneys have compiled texting and driving statistics and information about New York State cell phone laws for you to share with your family and friends.
Texting and Driving Risks
Any action that takes your attention away from driving can increase the risk of an accident. But texting and driving is an especially dangerous distraction because it takes your eyes off the road, your hands away from the steering wheel, and your focus away from preventing accidents.
Approximately 660,000 drivers use cell phones or electronic devices while driving. From drivers who believe they have the skills to multitask behind the wheel to inexperienced teenage drivers, many people are unaware of the risks posed by texting and driving. But according to the US Government’s distraction.gov campaign:
- Approximately 660,000 drivers use cell phones or electronic devices while driving.
- Engaging in visual manual sub-tasks—such as texting or dialing a phone—while driving increases crash risk by three times.
- Five seconds—or the average time you take your eyes off the road while texting—is enough time to cover the length of a football field while traveling at 55 miles per hour
Knowing the risks of texting and driving is only the first step toward creating safer roads in New York. Leading by example and setting clear rules for teen drivers can help reduce the chances of distracted driving accidents affecting your family.
New York State Texting and Driving Laws
Calling or texting on cellphones while driving is illegal in New York State, with the exception of calling 911 to report an emergency. Traffic tickets for each offense can result in:
- Fines and Surcharges
First offenses carry fines ranging from $50-150, and second offenses within 18 months raise the maximum fine to $200. Every additional conviction within 18 months can result in a maximum fine of up to $400 for each offense. Surcharges for any texting and driving ticket can be up to $93.
- Driver Violation Points
Texting and driving offenses result in five driver violation points added to drivers’ DMV driving records. In New York State, receiving 11 points within an 18 month period can result in license suspension.
- Penalties for Probationary and Junior Drivers
Probationary license holders can lose their licenses for at least six months if convicted of texting and driving. Drivers holding learner permits or Class DJ or MJ licenses may have their licenses or permits revoked for up to 60 days.
Helping Victims of Distracted Driving Accidents
If you were injured by someone who was texting while driving, call William Mattar. At William Mattar, our personal injury lawyers, covering Buffalo and the rest of New York State, have helped thousands of injury victims get compensated. If you’ve been injured by a distracted driver in New York State, we want to help. Talk to our 24/7 legal staff right now—just dial (844) 444-4444 or fill out a free initial consultation form to contact William Mattar today.