New Statewide Seat Belt Law Goes into Effect
November 4th, 2020|
In an earlier post, we discussed New York’s new law requiring all passengers age 16 and older to wear a seat belt when travelling in the backseat of a motor vehicle. This law went into effect on Sunday, November 1, 2020.
The legislation was signed by Governor Andrew Cuomo in August 2020. Previously, passengers over the age of 16 were only required to wear a seat belt in the front seat.
All passengers under the age of 16 are still required to wear a seat belt or child safety restraint system.
The new law also affects rideshare and taxi services with the intent to reduce motor vehicle fatalities. According to the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee, an estimated 30 percent of highway deaths in New York are occupants unrestrained by a seat belt.
In 1984, New York was the first state in the country to pass a mandatory seat belt law.
With this new law, backseat passengers who fail to buckle up can be fined $50. Drivers may also face a fine of $25 to $100 or a driver license violation if their backseat passengers are not wearing seat belts.
For more information on New York’s latest seat belt law, read William Mattar law office’s previous blog, here.