Does a Distracted Driving Ticket Affect Insurance?
April 23rd, 2021|
Distracted driving can have severe consequences. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), an estimated 3,142 lives were lost in distracted driving accidents in 2019.
Because of distracted driving concerns, states across the country have declared cell phone use illegal while driving. If you were pulled over for texting and driving or another type of distracted driving, you might have received a traffic ticket. You may be wondering: will this traffic ticket affect my insurance rate?
If you’re convicted of a distracted driving traffic violation, your car insurance rate could be affected. This will depend on particular facts, including your auto insurance carrier, the state you are in, and the violation.. Continue reading to learn more about how your insurance rate may change as a result of a ticket.
Do Driving Tickets Affect Insurance Rates?
According to the Insurance Information Institute, several factors determine the cost of car insurance, including your driving record, how much you use your car, your location, age, gender, credit, vehicle type, and, most importantly, your insurance company.
There are different types of traffic violations, and the number of points assigned for each traffic violation can vary. If you are convicted of a traffic violation, points will be added to your driving record, potentially causing your insurance premium to go up.
How Much Will My Insurance Increase From a Distracted Driving Ticket?
According to Insurance.com, a survey of six insurance carriers in 10 zip codes in every state showed that the average rate increase for a texting and driving ticket is 23%. The survey showed that the rate increase ranged from 12%to 45%.
How Long Will a Distracted Driving Ticket Stay on My Record in New York?
New York State has a driver point system that calculates how many points will be added for a traffic violation conviction.
For an “improper cell phone use” or a “use of portable electronic device” (texting) violation, five points will be assigned to your license. Points remain on your driving record for 18 months. According to the New York Department of Motor Vehicles, if you get 11 points on your license in 18 months, your driver’s license may be suspended.
New York Distracted Driving Laws
In New York, a distracting driving violation involving cell phone use or texting can result in fines and other penalties.
According to Sections 1225-C and 1225-D of the New York Vehicle and Traffic Law, the use of portable electronic devices or mobile telephones while operating a motor vehicle is prohibited.
Contact a Distracted Driving Accident Lawyer Today
At William Mattar law offices, we help victims of distracted driving accidents. If a distracted driver has injured you, contact us today. Our distracted driving accident lawyers are here to help you get maximum compensation. To schedule a free initial consultation with one of our attorneys, call (844) 444-4444 or complete our online contact form.